Australian Women in Wine Awards, 2016


On Tuesday night, November 15th, the much-awaited results for the ‘Australian Women in Wine Awards’ were announced via a live stream broadcast. Organized by The Fabulous Ladies Wine Society, these are given to some of the most well-known ladies of the Australian winemaking industry. In the current edition, awards were given in 6 different categories, as given below. The list of awards are as follows –

Winemaker of the Year (sponsored by Wine Ark) – Emma Norbiato of Calabria Family Wines from the Riverina region. 

Emma Norbiato

Viticulturist of the Year­ (sponsored by Wine Australia) – Prue Henschke of Henschke from Eden Valley

Prue Henschke

Owner/Operator of the Year (sponsored by Halliday) – Jenny Semmler of 919 Wines from Riverland

Jenny Semmler

Researcher of the Year (sponsored by Lallemand) – Cassandra Collins and Roberta De Bei

Cassandra Collins and Roberta De Bei

Cellar Door Person of the Year – Rebecca Barr from Fernfield Wines in the Eden Valley wine region

Rebecca Barr Fernfiled Wines

Workplace Champion of Change (sponsored by Vinomofo) – Iain Riggs of Brokenwood from Hunter Valley

Iain Riggs of Brokenwood

The esteemed judges overseeing the results included Chair of Wine Brian Walsh, wine writer Jeni Port, Irvine winemaker Rebekah Richardson, and Stargazer winemaker Samantha Connew, amongst others.

These awards strengthen and provide hope to future generations of women who aspire to make a name for themselves in the Australian wine industry, while also giving present female winemakers and viticulturists a chance to shine in the spotlight!



Related Posts

Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


About Just Wines

The Wines E-store, We blog about Wines.

The Wines E-store, We blog about Wines.

This season, the Just Wines blog will showcase a series of historic posts from the Australia's Wine Industry.